Procrastination is going to be the death of me

Standard

Are you also one of those people who put things off until the last-minute? God knows I never do things when I should, I am a serial procrastinator, and no, it is not working in my favor.

I am the kind that puts off doing laundry until I need my favorite pair of jeans and it is in the laundry basket. When people submit assignments, I am still typing the first paragraph. I can’t study weeks before a test, it’s not that I can’t, I just don’t do it. I even put off simple things like painting my nails, running or drinking water (which has caused me endless headaches). I put off lunches with my friends, I love them but I am the we-could-always-do-it-next-week kind of person. Sometimes, I’ll be hyped up about something but when the time comes, I’ll be like “Hmm, let me see, it’s not a life and death kind of situation right? Urgh, it can wait, let me sleep in today.”

I know you probably think I am lazy, and yes I have a bone of laziness in me, but I can justify that. I work well under pressure, well only the pressure I put on myself; I don’t want anyone breathing down my neck. I pass my assignments, I get good marks in my tests, my closet is always neat, and you should see my sigh of relief once I do laundry and the basket sits there empty, but I just haven’t got myself start running again.

I don’t think i will start running again until I struggle to get into my jeans or until there is five days left till that race I entered into, besides it is freezing. If you want to be fit you have to be prepared to “khaba lengubo” (kick that blanket off), and maybe join a gym, I have tried that, but the idea of the person next to me running 30km while I run 3km on the treadmill just doesn’t sit well with me, I am a very competitive person., so I don’t want to risk overworking myself or even worse, end up injuring myself just to be like those girls at the gym with their toned thighs.

Listen to me, giving a million reasons why I don’t work out, just lame excuses so I can keep procrastinating, again! As Alyce P. Cornyn-Selby said, “Procrastination is, hands down, our favorite form of self-sabotage.”

 

Leave a comment